FAQs


1.

Who is responsible for the Hosting Plan and a bid for the 2026 Winter Games?

 

Calgary 2026 Bid Corporation/La Société de la candidature de Calgary 2026 (Calgary 2026) was incorporated on June 7, 2018, with the sole mandate of the development and promotion of a bid to host the 2026 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

Calgary 2026 is led by Chief Executive Officer Mary Moran and will complete the bid exploration and development work that began in 2016. The 21-member Calgary 2026 Board of Directors is led by Chair Scott Hutcheson and is responsible for strategic oversight of the bid. The Board also includes representation from:

  • Government of Canada (3)
  • Government of Alberta (3)
  • City of Calgary (3)
  • Town of Canmore (1)
  • At Large, including one Indigenous representative (2)
  • Canadian Olympic Committee (3)
  • Canadian Paralympic Committee (1)
  • Members yet to be appointed (4)

2.

How much will the bid cost?

 

The cost of preparing a bid for the 2026 Games is estimated at $30 million, with funding from three sources:

  • Government of Canada: $10.5 million
  • Government of Alberta: $10 million
  • City of Calgary: $9.5 million

3.

What is the status of the municipal plebiscite?

 

Calgary City Council has approved a plebiscite (vote) in respect to Calgary hosting the 2026 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. Vote 2018 will take place Tuesday, November 13, with the following question on the ballot:

Are you for or are you against Calgary hosting the 2026 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games?

__ I am for Calgary hosting

__ I am against Calgary hosting

The plebiscites is not binding. It will be used to inform City Council on the public sentiment before they decide whether to commit funds to a bid.

4.

When will the bid be submitted?

 

If all the parties decide to pursue a bid and the International Olympic Committee (IOC) selects Calgary to be a Candidate City for the 2026 Winter Games in October, 2018, Calgary will submit a Candidature Questionnaire to the International Olympic Committee in January 2019.

5.

When will the Games be awarded?

 

The election of the 2026 Host City takes place in June 2019 at the IOC Session.

6.

What will it cost to host the Games?

 

It’s critical to separate the public investment ($3.0 billion) from the operating costs of the Games ($2.4 billion), and those numbers should not be added because there is some overlap.

The $3.0 billion in public investment will: refurbish legacy sport facilities; build two new sport and recreation facilities; fund new housing in Calgary and Canmore; provide security and other essential services; and contribute to operating the Paralympic Winter Games for the first time in Calgary. That number also includes generous contingencies and legacy funding for facility operations and programming after the Games.

The $2.4 billion cost of operating the Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games will be 91 per cent privately funded through revenue from the IOC, domestic sponsorship and ticket sales. The remaining 9 per cent ($218 million) is a contribution to the Paralympic Games, ensuring that the Paralympics are an aligned and inclusive event.

Calgary has among the lowest stocks of affordable and social housing in Canada and Canmore faces similar housing challenges.

7.

How many new facilities will be built?

 

We intend to renew and modernize eight existing facilities in Calgary and three mountain facilities including several venues from the 1988 Olympic Winter Games. This will bring the legacy facilities up to world-class, fully accessible standards and strengthen Calgary’s position as Canada’s winter sports centre of excellence.

The 2026 Olympic Winter Games will have approximately twice as many events as the 1988 Games and Calgary will host its first Paralympics Games. The Plan therefore includes two new facilities in Calgary – a mid-sized arena and a fieldhouse that will be converted to a summer multisport facility post Games.

As well, the draft Hosting Plan Concept envisions building athletes’ villages in Calgary and Canmore that will be converted into housing, including 600 affordable housing units and 200 units of seniors’ accommodation as well as initiatives for more housing for students and urban Indigenous Peoples.

8.

What is the total funding commitment from governments?

 

This is a responsible and cost-effective bid with a total public investment of approximately $3 billion that would be split between the municipal, provincial and federal governments. The budget includes operating and capital contingencies that total more than $1.1 billion to mitigate risk leading up to and including the delivery of the Games.

9.

Some previous Games have gone over budget. Are you concerned?

 

In addition to generous contingences built into the budgets, our draft Hosting Plan Concept is aligned with the IOC’s Agenda 2020 and the New Norm approach to hosting the Games. This approach makes the Games simpler and less expensive to host while putting a greater priority on legacy and sustainability.

For every Calgary dollar invested, our calculations suggest the leverage is five times that original dollar amount.

Register

Register to get access to exclusive updates not available anywhere else. Stay informed and engage with your friends, family and colleagues on all things Calgary2026!

Calgary 2026 follows Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL). Any contact information provided to Calgary 2026 will be kept private and confidential.

Join The Conversation

FAQs


1.

Qui est responsable du plan d’accueil et de la candidature pour les Jeux d’hiver de 2026?

 

La Société de la candidature de Calgary 2026 (Calgary 2026) a été incorporée le 7 juin 2018 avec comme seul mandat d’élaborer et de promouvoir une candidature pour accueillir les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2026.

La directrice générale Mary Moran est à la tête de Calgary 2026 qui bouclera le travail d’examen et d’élaboration de la candidature qui a commencé en 2016. Le conseil d’administration de 21 membres de Calgary 2026 est dirigé par le président Scott Hutcheson et est responsable de la supervision stratégique de la candidature. La composition du conseil d’administration se répartit comme suit:

  • Gouvernement du Canada (3)
  • Gouvernement de l’Alberta (3)
  • Ville de Calgary (3)
  • Ville de Canmore (1)
  • Deux membres à titre personnel, y compris un représentant autochtone (2)
  • Comité olympique canadien (3)
  • Comité paralympique canadien (1)
  • Membres pas encore nommés (4)

2.

Combien coûtera la candidature?

 

Le coût de la préparation de la candidature pour les Jeux d’hiver de 2026 est estimé à 30 millions de dollars, avec l’apport financier de trois sources:

  • Gouvernement du Canada : 10,5 millions de dollar
  • Gouvernement de l’Alberta : 10 millions de dollars
  • Ville de Calgary : 9,5 millions de dollars

3.

Qu’en est-il du plébiscite municipal?

 

Le mardi 11 septembre 2018, le conseil municipal de Calgary a approuvé la tenue d’un plébiscite (vote) au sujet de l’accueil, par Calgary, des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2026. Le Vote 2018 aura lieu le mardi 13 novembre et la question sera la suivante [traduction libre]:

Êtes-vous pour ou êtes-vous contre la tenue des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2026 à Calgary?

__ Je suis pour la tenue des Jeux à Calgary

__ Je suis contre la tenue des Jeux à Calgary

Le plébiscite n’a pas force exécutoire. Il servira à informer le conseil municipal de l’opinion du public avant qu’il ne décide d’engager des fonds dans la candidature.

4.

Quand la candidature sera-t-elle présentée?

 

Si toutes les parties décident d’aller de l’avant avec la candidature et que le Comité international olympique (CIO), en octobre 2018, sélectionne Calgary comme ville candidate pour l’accueil des Jeux d’hiver de 2026, Calgary présentera un questionnaire de candidature au CIO en janvier 2019.

5.

Quand décidera-t-on où auront lieu les Jeux?

 

L’élection de la ville hôte des Jeux de 2026 aura lieu en septembre 2019, à l’occasion de la Session du CIO.

6.

Combien en coûtera-t-il pour accueillir les Jeux?

 

Il est essentiel de distinguer l’investissement public (3 milliards de dollars) des coûts opérationnels des Jeux (2,4 milliards de dollars), et ces chiffres ne devraient pas s’additionner parce qu’il y a certains chevauchements.

La somme de 3 millions de dollars d’investissement public servira à : moderniser les installations sportives existantes; construire de nouvelles installations de sport et de loisir; financer de nouveaux logements à Calgary et à Canmore; fournir des services de sécurité et d’autres services essentiels et contribuer à l’exploitation des Jeux paralympiques d’hiver qui se dérouleront pour la première fois à Calgary. Ce montant englobe un généreux fonds de prévoyance ainsi qu’un fonds de legs pour l’exploitation des installations et des programmes après les Jeux.

La somme de 2,4 milliards de dollars constitue le coût opérationnel des Jeux olympiques et des Jeux paralympiques d’hiver, et 91 pour cent de ce montant proviendront de fonds privés, soit des revenus émanant du CIO, de commandites nationales et de la vente de billets. Les 9 pour cent qui restent (218 millions de dollars) représentent une contribution aux Jeux paralympiques pour assurer la conformité et le caractère inclusif de ces Jeux.

Calgary possède un des parcs de logements abordables et de logements sociaux les plus modestes au Canada, et Canmore fait face à des défis similaires.

7.

Combien d’installations nouvelles construira-t-on?

 

Nous avons l’intention de revitaliser et de moderniser huit (8) installations existantes à Calgary et trois (3) installations en montagne, y compris plusieurs sites des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1988. Cela permettra de moderniser les installations existantes conformément aux normes internationales et de les rendre accessibles en plus de renforcer la position de Calgary au Canada en tant que centre d’excellence des sports d’hiver.

Le programme des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2026 comprendra environ deux fois plus d’épreuves que celui des Jeux de 1988, et Calgary accueillera les Jeux paralympiques pour la première fois. Le plan prévoit deux nouvelles installations à Calgary – un aréna de taille moyenne et un complexe sportif, qui sera converti en installation multisports pour les sports d’été après les Jeux.

De même, l’ébauche du concept de plan d’accueil comprend la construction de villages des athlètes à Calgary et à Canmore qui seront convertis en logements, y compris 600 logements abordables et 200 logements pour personnes âgées ainsi que des initiatives de logement pour étudiants et Autochtones en milieu urbain.

8.

Quel est l’engagement financier total des gouvernements?

 

Il s’agit d’une candidature responsable et économique avec un investissement public total d’environ 3 milliards de dollars répartis entre l’administration municipale, le gouvernement provincial et le gouvernement fédéral. Le budget comprend des fonds de prévoyance pour l’exploitation et les immobilisations qui s’élèvent à plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars afin de minimiser les risques avant et pendant les Jeux.

9.

Certaines éditions précédentes des Jeux ont dépassé leur budget. Cela risque-t-il de se produire ici?

 

En plus du généreux fonds de prévoyance intégré au budget, notre ébauche du concept de plan d’accueil suit l’Agenda 2020 et la nouvelle norme pour l’accueil des Jeux du CIO. Cette approche rend l’accueil des Jeux plus simple et moins coûteux tout en accordant une plus grande priorité à l’héritage des Jeux et la durabilité.

Pour chaque dollar de Calgary investi, nos calculs suggèrent un levier de cinq fois le montant original.

Register

Register to get access to exclusive updates not available anywhere else. Stay informed and engage with your friends, family and colleagues on all things Calgary2026!

Calgary 2026 follows Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL). Any contact information provided to Calgary 2026 will be kept private and confidential.

Join The Conversation